January 27, 2017

Assemblymember Todd Gloria P.O. Box 942849 Sacramento, CA 94249-0078

SUBJECT: Comic Book Legal Defense Fund Support for Assembly Bill 228

Dear Assemblymember Gloria:

The Comic Book Legal Defense Fund is pleased to express our support for your Assembly Bill 228.

Our organization consists of more than 1400 members across the United States. We count 229 members in California, including 47 comic book stores and 5 publishers, with hundreds of additional members doing business at comic book conventions in California.

We are grateful for your authorship of legislation to constructively modify AB 1570. Our members appreciate the California State Legislature's efforts to safeguard consumers. Unfortunately, the overly broad scope of AB 1570 poses significant dangers that could undermine the rights, protections, and legitimate commerce of consumers and businesses, both within and beyond California. Regrettably, these unintended consequences were neither understood by the author nor substantiated by Legislative Counsel until after AB 1570 had been approved.

Your Assembly Bill 228 offers sensibly targeted amendments that will heed the laudable intent of AB 1570 while mitigating this new law's tremendously damaging unintended consequences.

We are prepared to provide support and assistance to aid your efforts to pass this important legislation, which we thank you for bringing before the California State Legislature for consideration. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can help in any way.

Very truly yours,

Charles Brownstein Executive Director



A non-profit, tax-exempt organization protecting the First Amendment rights of the comics community

> Charles Brownstein Executive Director

Alex Cox Deputy Director

Georgia Nelson Development Manager

> Betsy Gomez Editorial Director

Robert Corn-Revere Legal Counsel

## **Board of Directors**

Larry Marder President

Milton Griepp

Vice President

Jeff Abraham

Treasurer

Dale Cendali

Secretary

Jennifer L. Holm Reginald Hudlin

Katherine Keller

Paul Levitz

Christina Merkler

Chris Powell

Jeff Smith

## Advisory Board

Neil Gaiman Denis Kitchen Co-Chairs

Susan Alston

Susan Aiston

Matt Groening

Chip Kidd

Jim Lee

Frenchy Lunning

Frank Miller

Louise Nemschoff

Mike Richardson

William Schanes

Jose Villarrubia

Bob Wayne

Peter Welch

811 SW Naito Prkwy, Suite 100 1-800-99-CBLDF http://www.cbldf.org